Book project #2

The second project for the Fresh Designs Crochet books that I’ll tease you with is a textured blanket. This project is for the “Home” book. It is a striped fabric that uses post stitches to create wonderful depth and texture. Honestly, I didn’t even know how much I would love this pattern from seeing it in the stitch dictionary. In real life it has a lot more depth than the book shows and I can’t wait to work up the final blankets.

Yes, blankets. Two. They are lap blankets, but I’m probably still a bit crazy. 😉

As I was swatching for the proposal I tried a very bold swatch with two contrasting but complementary colors. I also did a second swatch with two yarns adjacent to each other on the color wheel for a much more subtle effect. I know that a lot of knitters and crocheters have trouble imagining projects in yarns and colors different from those presented in patterns, so I really wanted to show how color choices could produce two very different effects. I think the result will be one blanket that is more neutral and one that is more bold. And I really hope that it provides a jumping off point for crocheters to experiment with color combinations that make them happy.

Subtle Blanket Swatch

Subtle Blanket Swatch

 

There is also the issue of cost. Based on the color story the editor established for the book, I found a really amazing combination of yarns from Space Cadet Creations for the bold version. I haven’t gotten the yarn yet, but I really, really think this blanket is going to be stunning. But being hand dyed yarn from a small, independent dyer…it will not be an inexpensive project. Actually, I think it is very reasonably priced for the quality and color, but it won’t be accessible to all crocheters.

(I should be getting the Space Cadet yarn within the next week. When that swatch is done I will share that with you, too!)

So the second version (the “subtle” one, shown above) is being worked up in Berroco Vintage DK. Let me be frank here, I’m a bit of a yarn snob. I agree that acrylic has come a loooong way in the last 3 decades, but up until now I didn’t have a favorite yarn with significant acrylic content. Vintage has changed all that. It comes in a large and lovely color palette, the yarn itself is really pleasant to knit and crochet with and the price for a yarn with 40% wool content cannot be beat (especially with the upcoming wool price increases across the board).  I haven’t thrown the swatch in the washer and dryer yet, but I am expecting to be really happy with the results. And I have used the worsted weight version for a couple of baby gifts – two sweaters gifted and one blanket in progress. And I have yet to find a reason why this shouldn’t be one of my go to yarns for baby and kid presents.

I have cast on for the lap blanket sample with the Vintage DK and it will likely be my on the go and LYS project for the next couple of weeks. Along with a class sweater sample that I’ll introduce next week.

Have a lovely weekend! I hope the summer weather is as beautiful where you are as it is here!

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Book project #2

  1. Jenn says:

    I dried the Vintage once by mistake and it pilled horribly. 😦 Not even the sweater stone could save it!

  2. Anna says:

    Ooh! Shiny new blog!

Leave a Reply

