Rippled

I taught myself to crochet in 2008, but it has taken me four years to try one of the staples of the crochet world…

…the ripple blanket!

Seriously, what took me so long?

Blankets are a great canvas for crochet. The density of the stitches makes a nice, substantial blanket and unlike knitting, you don’t have to worry about using a stitch pattern that might roll at the edges. Plus, most crochet patterns are either totally reversible or at least interesting on both sides.

And on top of all of those great characteristics for blankets, the ripple blanket is an awesome canvas for using color.

The result of the long color selection process.

The result of the long color selection process.

I pulled three skeins of a hand dyed superwash that I bought at the Pittsburgh Knit and Crochet Festival from my stash – I believe the vendor was Shadyside Farm Studio. I originally had a sweater coat in mind for my daughter when I bought them, but that was 2 or 3 years ago, and now I don’t have enough yardarge for the coat I had in mind since she had grown. Oops. Her loss is the gain of a friend who just had a baby. I took two of those skeins to Natural Stitches and found six colors of Cascade 220 superwash to stripe with them.

Since this would be my first ripple blanket, I decided to keep it simple and just do two rows of each color. But I can already imagine that my next one (yes, there will definitely be more!) will involve varying width stripes and a mixture of solid and variegated yarns. Not to mention the possibility of adding stitch patterns or varying stitch heights. The possibilities are thrilling and endless. I think 2013 might finally be the year that I catch up on my list of overdue baby presents!

Long live the ripple!

Two color repeats complete

Two color repeats complete

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

