Best Laid Plans

I took some time earlier this month to brainstorm blog post ideas. As I think I’ve mentioned before, it is a little easier for me to write several posts at once and then schedule them to post on different days rather than trying to find time to write something each day. And by having a list of ideas written, when I find time to write, I can just sit down and write.

One of the things I had planned to blog about was my upcoming Top Down Sweater Workshop. This is a three session class that I teach at Natural Stitches over the course of 6-7 weeks. I have probably mentioned it before, and I know that I’ve always meant to discuss it in more detail to encourage student sign-ups.

And then, before I had a chance to write about it, the class was full. This is not a bad problem to have. I’m thrilled to have a full class because I feel like the class is a lot more useful when you have a variety of students asking questions. It improves the experience for everyone, and I wish that all of my classes had 3-4 students for this very reason.

So even though I’m not writing about the class to try to entice you to sign-up, I’ve decided that I’m going to blog about the sweater I’m making during the class. It will be something to point you to when I want you to sign up in the future (hee!) and I think it will be interesting to share my “process” on a sweater that I don’t plan to publish.

First, we have the swatch:

For homework, my students need to swatch with their chosen yarn and needles. Since I know the whole contents of the class, I include all of the elements in my swatch that I plan to use in the sweater – the increases at the raglan lines, any ribbing, cables or other texture stitches. Students who don’t include these elements in their initial swatches are asked to swatch them between sessions in addition to the work on their sweater.

The cables on my swatch are going to follow the raglan lines and there will be a couple going down the front of the sweater as well. The sweater will be somewhat simple to show off the gorgeous Targhee Worsted dyed by Blue Moon Fiber Arts, but I cannot resist a few cable details to keep my interest and to dress up the sweater.

Now that my swatch is washed and blocked, it is time to measure my gauge and start filling in the sweater recipe. I plan to cast on and hopefully knit the v-neck before the first class on February 2nd!

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

