Pittsburgh Knit and Crochet Festival

I am teaching at the Pittsburgh Knit & Crochet Festival again this year. Yay! Given the crazy winter weather we are experiencing right now, I am pretty thrilled that the festival moved to March instead of its previous slot in February. And I’m sure the organizers are, too!

I’ve been asked to teach four classes this year, so by the time Sunday evening rolls around I will completely exhausted. But I also come away from the festival energized with ideas and from the fun of spending time with my fellow fiber enthusiasts, students and vendors.

There is a lot of information at the website – www.pghknitandcrochet.com – detailing all of the special guests, events, vendors and classes for the 10th annual festival. It will be held the weekend of March 14-16th at the Four Points by Sheraton, located near the intersection of I-79 and I-76 in Mars, PA. There will be a lot of great vendors in the market, and I know for sure that Ross Farm Fiber and Spacecadet Creations will have samples of my designs in their booth!

Now, onto my classes.

Friday night I teach Crochet Motif Scarf from 6-9pm. This class uses my Berra Scarf pattern. You will learn to crochet the diamond and triangular motifs and how to crochet them together as you go. I will also show you how to read crochet charts and we’ll talk about blocking lace. Read more and register here – http://pghknitandcrochet.com/class-descriptions/friday-evening/crochet-motif-scarf-with-amy-maceyko/
BerraEndClose1

Saturday morning I am teaching Knitting in the Round from 9-11am. This beginner class is for any knitter who wants to learn how to knit in the round or for knitters who know one method for knitting in the round and wants to learn the rest. I will also demonstrate ways to avoid twisting your fabric and how to weave in your tail so it disappears. Read more and register here – http://pghknitandcrochet.com/class-descriptions/saturday-am/knitting-in-the-round-with-amy-maceyko/

Saturday afternoon I am teaching the Crochet Stitch Pattern Sampler Blanket from 1-5pm. Happily for me but sadly for you, this class is already full. I’m still in shock that this one sold out so quickly. If local readers are interested in this class, please get in touch and I will consider offering it again at Natural Stitches.

Stitch Pattern Sampler Blanket

Stitch Pattern Sampler Blanket

Sunday afternoon I am teaching Color Theory and Color Selection from 12:30-3:30pm. This class is for knitters and crocheters of all levels who want to build their confidence when it comes to color selection. We will discuss color theory and how to use it as a tool, as well as learning to find color inspiration from other sources and practicing what has been learned in class. There will be a wide selection of embroidery floss available so that students can put together color combinations based on what has been discussed in class, and take those selections home with them. Hopefully this will inspire a future project, whether it be striped, colorwork, intarsia or kool-aid dying! Read more and register here – http://pghknitandcrochet.com/class-descriptions/sunday-pm/color-theory-and-color-selection-with-amy-maceyko-new/

I hope to see you at the festival in March!

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

