Change

Do you remember my New Year Ramblings?
 
 Well, the introspection continued for weeks after I wrote that, and I settled on two possible paths that I could follow by the end of the year. I took stock of my skills, what I enjoy, and how much of my time is scheduled right now. The answer to the last question is “too much”. I enjoy all of the things that I am doing in my free time, but it is just a bit too much. Mostly because it is hard to accommodate more kid activities or more spontaneous things like going to a movie. It’s not that we don’t have enough quality time as a family, it is more the issue that a lot of things have to be planned in advance.
 
 Anyway…in an effort to avoid a long and rambling post, let me cut to the chase. I’ve accepted a new job! The new position is at an architecture firm similar to the one I previously worked at for 11 years. I think it will be a better fit than my current job, and I am very excited.
 
 The reason that this is relevant to Structured Stitches is that I have decided to stop teaching knit and crochet classes. The last classes that I will be offering are now posted on the Natural Stitches website. We can cover any topics you want in my Student’s Choice classes – an independent project, the subject of one of my regular classes, general help and advice, etc.
 
 
 
 Friday, April 4th – 8-9pm, Drop-in Help
 Sunday, April 6th – 2:30-4:30pm, Into to Fair Isle
 Monday, April 7th – 8-9pm, Drop-in Help
 Monday, April 21st – 6:30-8:30pm, Student’s Choice
 Friday, April 25th – 6:30-8pm, Knit or Crochet Refresher
 Sunday, May 11th – 12-2pm, Student’s Choice
 Sunday, May 11th – 2-3pm, Drop-in Help
 Sunday, May 18th & Sunday, June 8th & Sunday, June 22nd – 11:30am-2:30pm, Top Down Sweater Workshop
 
 This was not an easy decision. I really love teaching. I taught great students, the staff at Natural Stitches is a wonderful team, and I have learned SO MUCH about knitting and crochet by teaching it to others. Not to mention that teaching is what really gave me the push to start self-publishing my designs. I wouldn’t be where I am now without that experience.
 
 But, I have reached a point where I can’t be as good as I want to be at teaching, designing, parenting, and working all at the same time. I have great ideas for new classes, and designing gets in the way of planning them. Designing time gets interrupted by parenting responsibilities. Family plans are complicated by my teaching schedule. A long designing and teaching to do list is distracting my brain while I’m at work. I would rather let go of one venture in the hopes of doing the rest even better. And maybe, just maybe, spending a little more of my time on rest and relaxation.
 
 I will continue self-publishing knit and crochet designs, as well as blogging here. I have a LOT of ideas and I look forward to sharing them with you. There is no way to know for sure where this path will take me, but I am enjoying the trip.

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Change

  1. Helen says:

    Congratulations on the new job! Also, congrats on making a very hard decision. I also really struggled with the decision to leave Natural Stitches because it’s such a great place to work! I applaud your bravery for taking a leap and starting a new path.

Leave a Reply

