In the Works: Crackerjack

The one thing that I don’t like about designing knit and crochet patterns is that I don’t have (or make) a lot of time to make other people’s patterns. I always like to have something on the needles that doesn’t take a lot of thought, especially now that soccer season is upon us. Sometimes this takes the form of a second sample or second mitt. Sometimes this takes the form of a top down sweater for which the math is all done. And sometimes I can squeeze in a project in someone else’s pattern.
 
 ***************************
 
 A few days after the start of baseball season, a friend told me about a new pattern on Ravelry called Crackerjack. This free pattern is a recipe that allows you to create an infinity cowl based on the wins and losses of your favorite baseball team. Once I read the concept, I wanted to buy yarn and cast on immediately. I have been a Cincinnati Reds fan since I was 8 or 9 years old, and I have always enjoyed baseball. Combining baseball and knitting seems like a great idea!
 


I’m knitting 3 rounds of red stockinette stitch for each win (home or away), 2 rounds of garter in white for home losses and 2 rounds of garter in grey for away losses. I’m going to put 2 rounds of seed stitch between consecutive wins. That has sadly not yet been necessary. :-/
 
 The yarn is Cascade Heritage Silk (red) and Sock (grey and white), which is a fingering weight. So I’m knitting 80 stitches per round on size 1 needles. I would normally not be interested in that combination for a cowl, but since it is just 2-5 rounds per day, I think it is totally doable as long as I don’t get too far behind. (Famous last words.)
 
 The Reds have lost a number of games by a very small margin. I hope that they can start to flip some of those close games the other way in the coming weeks. It would be nice to have a mostly red cowl. 😉
 
 

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to In the Works: Crackerjack

  1. caityrosey says:

    I can see getting really into a project like that. Nice idea.

  2. Jenn says:

    It looks great! 😀

  3. Pingback: Halfway |

Leave a Reply

