Ten Years

Around this time, ten years ago, a good friend taught me to knit. And the rest, as they say, is history. 🙂

In the months after our wedding in fall 2003, I continued to read and post on a message board that had been a resource during the wedding planning process. Part of the reason that I stayed active on the board was that I wanted to give back to the group and share what I had learned. Part of it was that I had made actual friends on the board, and I wanted to keep “hanging out” with the people there.

In January, someone posted to the board that she was tired of knitting alone, and wondered if anyone wanted to get together to knit as a group. I had met this person in real life one time and she had seemed nice. At the time, most of my friends were people I had met through my husband, and I was not a knitter, but I did cross stitch and asked to join in. One Sunday afternoon in January 2004, the group met for the first time (just four of us), and over the next few months more knitters joined our ranks.

After a few meetings, I became intrigued by the books of knitting patterns being passed around and the cool tools that the knitters were using. (I’m a sucker for interesting tools.) I was working on a wedding sampler, and I decided that I shouldn’t learn to knit until it was done. (In hindsight, the was an EXCELLENT choice because I have barely done any cross stitch projects since I started playing with yarn!) 

At the May meeting I was done with the wedding sampler, and I asked the instigator of the group to teach me to knit. She did and the obsession began. 

I feel like I should do something interesting to celebrate the fact that I have been knitting for a full decade. We could pretend like all the yarn I bought at Maryland Sheep & Wool was an anniversary present? 😉

(Yes, I still intend to write a MDSW wrap-up post. It is in the works.)

Thank goodness for my friend, blogless Erin. She has enriched my life in many ways, but teaching me to knit was priceless and life altering!

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

