In the Works: Shawl, Socks and a Blanket

The distraction that I posted about two weeks ago  was finished and blocked on Thursday night. I finished weaving in the ends last night and photographed it on my daughter this morning. I wrote most of the pattern (except for the charts) on Sunday. So once I figure out the best way to assemble a self-addressed stamped envelope to have the sample returned to me, I’m going to be sending it in for a submission call. But this particular call allows simultaneous self-publishing. And as I mentioned, I have an idea to make a larger version with two skeins of yarn. So you won’t have to wait months and months to see whether this comes out in a book. But I’m going to keep some of it under wraps until I have the larger version worked out.

I had hoped to submit a second project to the book call as well, but time has run out.

***********************************
The socks I started in July  have made some progress. I was feeling concerned that the one for me was a bit snug and I was sad to see that the first one for my daughter was very snug…and they went back in the WIP basket. This weekend I washed and blocked the first sock for me. Despite the popularity of Lorna’s Laces Shephard Sock, it is not one that I have used before, so I didn’t know how it would to blocking. Thankfully, there was enough bloom that the size turns out to be fine. After putting my sock in for a bath, I ripped back the sock for my daughter. No matter how fast sock knitting for a 7 year-old foot is, I don’t really want her to grow out of it mere months after it is done. So I added a couple of increases for a larger foot, and I made it a little longer, too. She tried the sock on after dinner last night – success! And I bound off her first sock before bed last night.

Hopefully I can keep the momentum going and cast on the second sock for me very soon.

***********************************
And lastly, a few photos of a finished object. I wrote about this blanket when I decided to change how I crocheted the squares together, but I never shared the finished object!

StitchSamplerAndyChair_medium2

This is a second sample of my first published design, a present for friends who adopted a little boy last year. I finished it back in June and delivered the gift a couple of weeks later. The original was designed quickly as a class sample with the yarn I had on hand. I love the color combination of this version a lot more!
StitchSamplerAndyRailing_medium2

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

