12 Days of Casting On: Part 1

As I mentioned earlier, I’ve been participating in a little activity with others at my LYS, where we are each casting on a new project or doing some focused crafting on each day of the 12 days of Christmas.

If you are a member of ravelry, you can see all of the insanity here – http://www.ravelry.com/discuss/natural-stitches/2794340/1-25 with the discussion of this year’s event starting on post #47.

So let’s take a look at the first few days of the “challenge” for me.

On Christmas I cast on a snitch for my daughter. At Maryland Sheep and Wool the kids spied a small bin of sparkly yarns, and in the process of trying to convince me to buy a skein my daughter argued that it would be perfect for making a snitch. Since the kids were generally well behaved on a trip primarily about making ME happy (my friends, yarn, sheep, etc), I decided to agree. Though I made it clear that I was not promising a specific delivery date for the snitch.

I used the pattern for Igor the Tiny Bat as the basis for the snitch. The last time I looked through ravelry for snitch patterns I couldn’t find one that was quite what I was looking for. I was actually looking through the FreshStitches patterns looking for one that had a nice, round head for the ball of the snitch and assumed that I would improvise the wings. But when I saw Igor, he seemed like the perfect shape, and the wings were similar to what I wanted.

OncePhoto Jan 04, 12 11 01 PM I understood his construction, I was able to modify the wing shape to be more tapered and I had the first wing complete before we left the house to go to a cousin’s for Christmas dinner! I finished the second wing and started the body during present opening  and Mad Libs, and I was halfway done with the body by the time I went to bed. The yarn was not that pleasant to work with, so I decided to press on and finish the snitch as soon as I could. Given that we had no plans on the 26th, it wasn’t hard to wrap up the work while playing board games and watching movies.

Now my only conundrum is what to do with the rest of the gold yarn. As unpleasant as it is to work with, it is very sparkly and fun. I think it needs to be some sort of tree decoration or Christmas garland.

Since I had used up some of my crafting time already for Day 2, I decided to cast on a pair of vanilla socks for my official cast on. The yarn is Vesper Sock Yarn, one of the eight stripe colorways called “Crossroads”. I bought several skeins of her yarn in October, and I let the girl pick her favorite of the three for her next pair of socks. I completed the toe that day, and then took them to the movies (Into the Woods!) later in the week to get quite a bit done.

Photo Jan 02, 7 02 01 PMI’m actually debating what to do. I meant to do the girl’s socks first, but I got so far during the movie that it is long enough for my foot. And if she tries it on, the foot fits, but it is really too big around her ankle and lower calf. So I’m debating who this sock belongs to and how to proceed. It’s in time out until I have a few minutes to consider my options and to be able to deal with the thought of ripping it back.

On Day 3 I cast on a present for a friend’s daughter. She is pregnant with twins, and I had already made newborn versions of my next hat pattern. She’s having a girl and a boy, so I made two different color combinations with grey for the babies. Then I used all four colors with the same DSCN4297grey to make a coordinating hat for her daughter. The larger hat uses the same pattern, but color layout is a bit different than the chart for the 3 color version since it has 5 colors. I had to start a second time because the first version, made like the pattern chart was not a good combination. The pattern is at my editor now, so once it comes back, and there is decent light for pictures, I will make it available on Ravelry and Patternfish.

Stay tuned for more of my holiday knitting and crocheting!

About Structured Stitches

Designer - Knit, Crochet and Architecture
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 12 Days of Casting On: Part 1

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Casting On: Part 2 |

  2. Pingback: 12 Days of Casting On: Part 3 |

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Casting On: Part 4 |

  4. Pingback: Proxima Hat |

Leave a Reply

